The annual meeting and dinner of the the St James Men's Golf Association (SJMGA) was held at Members Club on Thursday November 10<sup>th</sup>. The agenda is attached below. The attendees included approximately 160 SJMGA members and all of the current SJMGA Officers. The number of SJMGA members attending represented a quorum of the membership (per SJMGA Constitution a quorum requires a minimum 35% of the total regular membership and three of the five Executive Officers must be present).

Brian Smith called the meeting to order, and introduced the current SJMGA officers and the representatives from Troon. Kent Silhanek made a number of brief comments, in particular highlighting the contributions of Lee Doiron to the SJMGA and wishing him well in his new assignment. The SJMGA would also like to express its appreciation to Lee Doiron for his hard work as Troon MGA Tournament Director, and we look forward to working with Lee's successor Allen Hylton.

There were a number of reports/actions with the following highlights:

- Paul Schnobrick-SJMGA Treasurer indicated that the 2022 budget is running very tight, due primarily to the increased cost of the Annual Dinner and Christmas Party.
   Accordingly, prior to the Annual Meeting the Executive Council decided to raise 2023 membership dues to \$60.
- Jim York indicated that there were no SJMGA members with less than 90% posting. He
  also reminded the membership that starting January 1, 2023 the posting requirement
  increases to 95%. A number of SJMGA members are below the new 95% posting
  requirement.
- Jim Freudenberg presented trophies to the gross and net Stroke Play champions and also to the Match Play champions. He also introduced the new Tournament Director Kevin Lynch.
- Matt Dunne reviewed the proposed changes to the SJMGA Constitution and Bylaws. The changes eliminated a number of contradictions between the Constitution and Bylaws, and clarified that SJMGA Officers are elected to two year terms. The proposed changes were approved by acclimation.
- The slate of Officers from the Nominating Committee for 2023-24 were presented and approved by acclimation. Jim Freudenberg is the new President replacing Brian Smith. Jim York and Mike Hayes were re-elected as Vice President and Secretary respectively. Jeff Haller is the new SJMGA Treasurer replacing Paul Schnobrick who has held the position for the past eight years. The SJMGA thanks Paul for all his hard work during his tenure as Treasurer.

Brian Smith opened the floor to comments and questions. Hearing none, the meeting was closed.

## **2022 SJMGA ANNUAL MEETING & DINNER**

- 1. Call to order and welcome all attendees
- 2. Prayer Mike Rosen
- 3 Introduce Past Presidents: Wayne Dadetto, Paul Dewey
- 4 Introduce Current Officers
  Vice President Jim York
  Treasurer Paul Schnobrick
  Secretary Mike Hayes
  Tournament Director Jim Freudenberg
  Advisor to the Executive Committee- Paul Dewey
  Asst Tournament Director Dave McNamara
- Introduce Troon Representatives
   Kent Silhanek Dave Kjome, Barry Walters Steve Elkins
   Robert Starkey, Allen Hylton, Lee Doiron
- 6. Comments from Kent
- 7. Secretary Minutes Mike Hayes
- 8. Treasurers Report Paul Schnobrick
- 9 Report from Handicap Committee Jim York
- 10. Recognize new Members in Attendance
- 11. Introduce Interclub Captains: IGA Jim York , ICMC Lou DiDonato CCIA Tom Lawruk
- 12. Introduce Mike Rosen SJMGA Road Trip Coordinator

- 13. Ageless Cup Coordinator Matt Dunne
- 14 Father Son Coordinator Paul Dewey
- 15. Jim Freudenberg Tournament Coordinator Comments on 2022 Season
- 16. Introduce Matt Dunne to discuss Changes to Constitution and Bylaws

  Vote on Bylaw changes
- 17. Election of 2023 -2024 Officers

**President – Jim Freudenberg** 

Vice President - Jim York

Treasurer - Jeff Haller

**Secretary – Mike Hayes** 

- 18. Open to questions and answers
- 19 Recognize Brandee, Sarah and the rest of the supporting staff
- 20. Moment of Silence for passed members
- 21. Close the meeting

REMEMBER TO KEEP YOUR BALLS CLEAN AND YOUR PUTTER COVERED!